On this page


2018 INFINZ Awards Finalists Announced - click here

Pre-book your accommodation now: click here for further details

2018 INFINZ Industry Awards

The INFINZ Awards black-tie dinner, which is held in May each year, is a highlight of the financial calendar. In 2017, over 820 guests attended this gala occasion at which 14 Awards, one Distinguished Fellowship and three INFINZ Fellowships were presented. The purpose of the awards is to recognise innovation and excellence and thereby raise standards in New Zealand's financial and capital markets.

In 2018 the awards dinner will be held on the evening of Thursday 17 May at The Cordis Hotel, Auckland (Formerly The Langham).

  • Dress: Black Tie
  • Time: 6.00pm cocktails, with the formal part of the evening commencing at 6.45pm in the Great Room

The process to determine the 2018 winners has already been launched and a summary of the award categories and judging process applying to each is given below:

Each of the following awards is determined by an expert panel, which judges submissions received:

All submissions for these awards closed Wednesday 21 February 2018.

The following awards are determined by voting amongst expert groups:

In addition, the best research and service teams in some 20 categories within the leading full-service sharebroking firms will be notified in The New Zealand Herald the day after the awards dinner.

The following awards are determined by expert panels:

Finalists are expected to be announced by mid-April and winners will be announced at the dinner on 17 May 2018.

Any questions about the awards themselves should be addressed to the INFINZ Executive Director, Jim McElwain on 021 632047 or exec@infinz.com

INFINZ Fellowships

INFINZ Fellowships are also awarded at the INFINZ Awards Dinner. They recognise those INFINZ members who have made a significant and valuable contribution to the industry. Nominations for either Fellowships or Distinguished Fellowships to be awarded in 2018 are invited from Certified Members of INFINZ. Nominations closed on Wednesday 31 January 2018. A nomination form can be accessed here

Booking tickets to the Awards Dinner on 17 May 2018

INFINZ members and corporate sponsors and supporters have an exclusive booking period until Wednesday 31 January 2018. Tickets will be $350 plus GST each.

From 1 February 2018, tickets will become available to the wider market and are $500 plus GST each. Email Administration Manager Iona Gibbs on admin@infinz.com for all bookings and enquiries.

Early registration is advised as a wait-list applied in 2017 and scaling is also expected to apply in 2018.

To find out how you could become a corporate sponsor or supporter of INFINZ and thereby secure your seats at the dinner please contact Bernice Archer by phone: 027 324 2155, or email marketing@infinz.com

To find out how you could join INFINZ, please click here or contact INFINZ Administration Manager Iona Gibbs by email

2017 INFINZ Awards

The 2017 INFINZ Industry Awards were celebrated on Thursday 18 May at a gala black-tie dinner at The Langham Hotel in Auckland. A record 820 guests enjoyed an evening to celebrate excellence in the capital markets industry in New Zealand.

The Hon. Steven Joyce, Minister of Finance and Minister of Infrastructure, delivered the keynote address.

The judging process focused on the actions and individual who added most value to corporate New Zealand and hence the economy.

The Award Winners were:

First NZ Capital - Market Leaders Best Corporate Communicator
Z Energy

NZX - Emerging Leaders Best Corporate Communicator
Pushpay Holdings Ltd

The Business - Institutional Banking Innovation
ANZ - Liquidity Management Solution

EY - Debt Deal of the Year
Christchurch Adventure Park Funding
Borrower: Leisure Investments NZ Ltd Partnership (LINZ)
Lender: China Construction Bank (New Zealand) Ltd (CCBNZ)

Trustees Executors - NZ Debt Market Issue of the Year
Auckland International Airport NZD$225m 7 year fixed rate bonds
Issuer: Auckland International Airport Ltd
Joint Lead Managers: Bank of New Zealand, Westpac Banking Corporation (acting through its New Zealand branch)

PwC - NZ Equity Market Transaction of the Year
Investore Property NZD$185m Initial Public Offering
Issuer: Stride Property Ltd
Sole Lead Manager, Bookrunner and Underwriter: Goldman Sachs New Zealand Ltd

Craigs Investment Partners - Excellence in Treasury
Fletcher Building

Chapman Tripp - Fund Manager of the Year - Equities
Nikko Asset Management

Milford Asset Management - Sharebroking Firm of the Year
First NZ Capital

Massey University College of Business - Fund Manager of the Year - Bonds
AMP Capital Investors

Chapman Tripp - M&A Transaction of the Year
Z Energy's acquisition of Chevron NZ for NZD$785m
Acquiror: Z Energy
Financial Adviser: Goldman Sachs New Zealand Ltd

AUT Business School - Research Analyst of the Year
Arie Dekker - First NZ Capital

University of Auckland Business School - Emerging Leader
Richard Milsom - Principal at Elevation Capital

Caldwell Partners - Leadership Award
Rod Duke, Group Managing Director and Deputy Chairman, Briscoe Group Ltd

INFINZ Fellows announced at the INFINZ Awards Dinner
Mary-Jane Daly, Scott St John and Maree Webster

INFINZ Distinguished Fellow announced at the INFINZ Awards Dinner
Rob Cameron

Best Sector Analysts 2017 (PDF) and Category Winners 2017 (PDF)

For photographic and video coverage of the Awards, please click here

Previous Awards winner announcements can be found below:

2017 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

2017 Best sector analysts teams

2016 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

2016 Best sector analysts teams

2015 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

2015 Best sector analysts teams

2014 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

2014 Best sector analysts team and Service Teams

2013 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

2013 Best Sharebroking Sector Analyst and Service Teams

The New Zealand Herald 2012 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

The New Zealand Herald 2011 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

The New Zealand Herald 2010 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

The National Business Review 2009 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

The National Business Review 2008 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

The National Business Review 2007 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

The National Business Review 2006 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

The National Business Review 2005 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

Vodafone 2004 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

Vodafone 2003 INFINZ Industry Awards Winners

MoST Content Management V3.0.6676